Salmon and People in a Changing World


09:30 – 10:30     Opening Session (Chair: Richard Sankey, Fisheries Management Scotland)
Dr Alan Wells (Fisheries Management Scotland): A changing world for salmon
Dr Emma Hatfield (NASCO): The International Year of the Salmon
Mark Bilsby (Atlantic Salmon Trust): The Likely Suspects Framework

10:30 – 11:00     Coffee

11:00 – 12:20     Workshop Session 1

Workshop 1: Salmon Farming
Confirmed contributors:
Dr Gideon Pringle – Mowi Scotland
Dr Alan Wells – Fisheries Management Scotland
Dr John Armstrong – Marine Scotland Science
Dr Sten Karlsson – NINA
Dr Eric Sterud – Norwegian Salmon Rivers 
Dr Paddy Gargan – Inland Fisheries Ireland

Workshop 2: Renewable energy
Confirmed contributors:
Steve Gephard – State of Connecticut DEEP/Inland Fisheries Division
Dr David Summers – Tay DSFB
Prof Eric Verspoor – Rivers and Lochs Institute, University of the Highlands and Islands
Sarah Pirie – Moray East Offshore Wind Farm
Ross Gardiner – Marine Scotland Science
Dr Patrick Boylan – Loughs Agency

12:20 – 13:30     Lunch

13:30 – 14:30     Workshop Session 2

Workshop 3: High Seas Pressures
Confirmed Contributors:
Prof Ken Whelan – Atlantic Salmon Trust
Prof Christopher Todd – University of St Andrews
Dr Stuart Middlemas – Marine Scotland Science
Dr Jens Christian Holst – Ecosystembased

Workshop 4: Predation of salmon
Confirmed contributors:
Dr Niels Jepsen – National Institute of Aquatic Research, Denmark
Jamie Urquhart – River Dee
Dr Eric Sterud – Norwegian Salmon Rivers
James Hunt – Tweed Foundation

14:30 – 15:00     Coffee

15:00 – 16:15     Workshop 5: Protection, restoration and enhancement
Confirmed Contributors:
Dr John Armstrong – Marine Scotland Science
Jon Gibb – Lochaber DSFB
David Harley – Scottish Environment Protection Agency
Arlin Rickard – The Rivers Trust
Prof Christopher Todd – University of St Andrews
Chris Conroy – Ness District Salmon Fishery Board

16:15 – 16:55     Feedback from workshops and general discussion

16:55 – 17:00     Closing Comments and wrap up

18:30                   Evening Reception and Conference Dinner